Lipstick Locker: Once-A-Year Lipstick

So there’s a special occasion lipstick, and there are lipsticks so special you can only use it once a year. I’m one of those people who have lipsticks just to have them, and not necessarily use them because there is a hardly ever an occasion worthy of its beauty. I’m weird that way.

Solos-7

Solos-8 L-R: Guerlain Rouge G in 25 Garconne, Guerlain Rouge Kiss Kiss in 325 Rouge Kiss, Kat Von D Studded Kiss in Underage Red, MAC Riri Hearts Mac Holiday in Bad Girl RiRi

Guerlain Rouge G in Garconne is the most beautiful red lipstick I have ever had the pleasure of seeing, using, and owning. It’s a rich blue-based red that is neither too bright or too dark. When I think of the color red, this is exactly what red is to me. The texture is beautiful, you only need to apply it once with no need for touchups throughout the day. It lasts forever. I’ve only worn it a few times; my 18th birthday (for which it was given to me), my graduation photo, and my 21st birthday. 

Guerlain Rouge Kiss Kiss in 325  Rouge Kiss bright coral-red on the warmer side. Normally I’m not inclined to warm-toned lipsticks but I do like coral. The texture of this is beautiful, but not quite as rich as the Rouge G (well, it’s also not as expensive so..). It’s still opaque with one swipe, but my lips are quite pigmented and I like my lipstick fully covering my natural lip color so I used about 2-3 passes with this. It’s very moisturizing without the high shine. And the packaging is super cute. I’ve only used this once for a shoot (for myself lol, I don’t think I’ll ever use this on a client).

TMZ_4455

A few pounds ago. Photo by Tarish Zamora and Nikki Ruiz

Kat Von D Studded Kiss in Underage Red is a bright blue-based red with the most matte finish I have ever tried. It’s color is almost like Ruby Woo, but not as pink. The finish is more matte than retro matte, but not nearly as dry, although it does dry out after a while. It’s more reminiscent of the NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Dragon Girl, but this feels thicker on the lips. More than the color and the texture, what I really like about this lipstick is the packaging. They don’t call it studded kiss for nothing. I’ve only worn this about 3-4 times, all of which weren’t photographed. I’ll make sure to wear this for my next shoot if I ever model again cause I doubt I’ll ever use this on someone else LOL.

MAC Bad Girl RiRi is a matte taupe-y nude with cool undertones. It’s very on trend right now that “greige” or grayish-brownish-beige is making a comeback. I bought this January 2014 when I was depressed over some personal issues and I blew an extra 300pesos for this lipstick from an online re-seller. I originally wanted RiRi’s Pleasure Bomb instead of this, but this was the only shade available and I’m a big fan of Rihanna. Who knew it’d be so trendy just a year later! I’ve only used this shade once for my 21st birthday shoot and I love how it looks, but unfortunately it makes me look grunge/gutom if I wore this to the mall.

DSC_7324

Pagod Face featuring MAC Bad Girl RiRi. Photo by Tarish Zamora

This entry was posted in Makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

