Lipstick Locker: Lazy Chic Collection

If you know me personally, you would know that my go-to “fashion” getup is the pambahay/pantulog chic. Shorts + tank top, loose pants + tank top, joggers + v-neck, skinny jeans + sweater, all with sneakers or for extra lazy days, flats, are my default ensembles. I’m not much for a fashionista, I’m as basic as basic goes. Half of my closet is Uniqlo, and the other half is from Uniqlo-esque stores.

Considering I already have the resources, I try to dress up by wearing makeup. But even then, I don’t really wear makeup when I go out. On a work day, I’d put on sunblock and do my brows. On a night out, I add some lipstick into the mix. On a special night out, I add concealer. On a night out when I think I’ll have the patience to remove my mascara when I get home, I curl my lashes and put mascara.

The lipsticks in this collection, therefore, are the lipsticks I use to “dress up” my lazy outfits. They’re one of those insta-glam lipsticks that just make you look put together even when you barely have anything on. It seems to work well enough for me as a diversion, people don’t notice my shorts + tank ensemble when I’m out in a bar. Or at least, I don’t think they do..Solos-4

Solos-5

L – R: Chanel Rouge Allure Velvet La Sensuelle, MAC Viva Glam I, MAC Diva

Yes, they are all red lipsticks. I find that red lipstick is the easiest way to look dressed up and put together, especially when everything else is kept to a minimum. I don’t believe anyone who tells me that they don’t look good with red lipstick. There is a red lipstick out there for everyone, it’s just a matter of picking the right kind of red. In my case, I like reds that are blue-based. You’ll see more of that on my upcoming posts. 🙂

Chanel Rouge Allure Velvet La Sensuelle is a dark berry red lipstick. It’s supposed to be matte finish since it’s under the velvet matte line, but it’s not quite as matte as my other matte lipsticks. It’s like a cross between cream and matte, but more on the matte side. It works well for me because I have dry lips, and this keeps my lips hydrated longer than my MAC matte lipsticks. On my arm swatch, it looks quite bright, but on my lips it usually registers much darker since my lips are quite pigmented. I use this for more special occasions, like friends’ birthdays or press events.

MAC Viva Glam I is a medium brick-red lipstick with a matte finish. This shade is one of my first MAC lipsticks, but this is my second tube as I lost my first one last year. This is a non-negotiable shade for me. It’s a classic – not too bright, not too dark. And no matter how many times I’ve worn this, it never fails to bring me at least two people asking me what shade I’m wearing. I swear by this lipstick and I have influenced many of my friends to buy this lipstick, and they’ve fallen in love with it as much as I have. I wear this for nights out, work, family events, everywhere! Except for maybe the grocery.

MAC Diva is a dark blue-based red with a matte finish. This matte dries my lips out faster than majority of my matte lipsticks, but I always wear it anyway. This is the shade I wear when I want to feel most dressed up, makeup-wise. There’s no subtleties to it, it’s dark and it’s rich, but it doesn’t try too hard to get your attention. I guess in some sense, it really is a diva HAHA. 

MAC Diva over NYX Slim Lip Pencil in Deep Red

MAC Diva over NYX Slim Lip Pencil in Deep Red

MAC Diva on Jaz Reyes

MAC Diva on Jaz Reyes

This entry was posted in Makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

