Mermaid in Black Waters

IMG_9162

“Look at this stuff, isn’t it neat? Wouldn’t you think my collection’s complete?”

My makeup look collection is far from complete, but this stuff is still pretty neat. This was a fun collaboration shoot with two of my very good friends and go-to artists, Benjo Beringuela on the lens, and Chesca Floirendo looking good like she always does. On that day, we were supposed to have a real shoot for a client but it didn’t push through, but since we all already cleared out our schedules for it and had nothing else to do, we decided to shoot anyway. So after lunch on a hot, sunny day in October, we gathered in my house and let spontaneity take over our creativity and here it is!

IMG_9177

This was the first time in a really long time that I had full control over the makeup I was going to do, and I must say, having that much freedom was liberating yet at the same time limiting. I don’t know when I’ll get this chance again, so I wanted to do as many things I don’t usually get to do all at once, but I didn’t want to make it look all over the place. Every step of the way was really such a mystery, and luckily for me, I love surprises.

IMG_9487

I decided to focus on the eyes, and used an eyeshadow color I don’t foresee myself using anytime soon. I’ve only used it on myself once, but only as an eyeliner color which was barely seen. It was a bright teal that looks a little gold in some angles of light. I contoured it with some frosty royal blue and brushed on some matte blue to blend the two colors together. To smoke it out and add more drama and edge, I used my trusted matte black from my Kat Von D palette. For an extra pop, I used a high-shimmer, yellow-gold eyeshadow from my UD Theodora palette aka my most expensive and most under-used palette. Popped on some extra thick and long, drag queen lashes, et viola, we have a mermaid! Without meaning to, Chesca’s outfit was perfect for the apparently water-inspired look.

IMG_9210

This is my first hand on more editorial-vibe looks, and I hope it was a good first try. I’d love to know what you guys think, so let me know in the comments! I accept any and all criticisms that would help me become a better artist. 🙂

Check out this entry on my Behance

IMG_9186 IMG_9210 IMG_9420Photography | Benjo Beringuela

Model | Franchesca Diaz Floirendo

 

This entry was posted in Makeup and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mermaid in Black Waters

  1. Arielle Tan says:

    In love with the makeup look! It is so gorgeous ❤

Leave a Reply

