Around The World: Hong Kong Makeup Haul

Back in my own continent, hello Hong Kong. This is my second time visiting Hong Kong and the first time I had 2 full days to go around/shopping. We were unintentionally located adjacent to the Harbor City mall in Tsim Sha Tsui. All I can say is, WOW. Harbor City Mall and all its different parts were just overwhelming. SM should be ashamed by saying they’ve got it all ’cause Harbor City Mall totally has it all. Across that was another big mall called Silvercord. Obviously, I did nothing but eat, sleep and shop when I was Hong Kong and I decided to spend majority of my allowance on makeup.

The prices of makeup in HK are crazy. I wish the prices were the same in Manila so it’d be much easier to buy makeup whenever I needed something. But I guess, if that was the case, I’d be perpetually broke and hungry. Hmm priorities.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMAC Veluxe Brow Liner in Deep Brunette.

Brows are definitely the trend now and as I pondered on what I lacked in my makeup kit, I realized that I don’t have a proper eyebrow product. For the past 2 years I preferred the soft finish of using eyeshadow powder for eyebrows and setting it with hairspray and it was only until MAC released their Stylish Brows collection that I was convinced to try playing with eyebrows more. This and the next product have been sold out in MNL for the longest time and I was lucky enough to grab the last few stocks in FACESSS in HK. This liner… I’m honestly not sure how to feel about it. It’s definitely a good product – pigmented, blendable and applies easily. I’ve worn it three times and I’ve changed the way I applied it on all occasions but it just can’t seem to look natural for daily wear. I can definitely see it working for more ambitious settings like photoshoots and evening events but not the type I’d reach out for everyday. Shame, it’s such a convenient little pencil.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMAC Fluidline Brow Gelcreme in Redhead.

This is another eyebrow product that I just wanted to have when I first saw it on Temptalia. I absolutely adore eye gelcremes so I was definitely excited for this. I initially wanted to get it in Dirty Blonde but it was out of stock and this was the last stock in Redhead and Deep Dark Brunette was much too dark for me. With that, I just took it hoping it will work HAHA. When I swatched it at the back of my hand it’s the closest I could get to Dirty Blonde and it’s not too light for my natural hair color. I haven’t tested this yet but knowing its consistency and purpose, I know I can only use these for clients, photoshoots and evening occasions. It lasted forever at the back of my hand, which is remarkable considering the number of times I was my hands in a day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Revlon Photoready Color Correcting Primer

As you can see, this bottle is still sealed and has yet to see the studio lights. I’ve read a lot of good reviews about this and it was only 128 HKD so I decided to get it on whim, I was in need of a face primer anyway. To my surprise when I got to the cashier, it was further reduced to 89 HKD – 490 PHP! Whether or not this works out for me, I know I wasn’t ripped off.

 

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler

My old Shu curler badly needed a replacement as it wasn’t curling at its best after 3 years so it was time to buy a new one. It was only 825PHP in HK, I think its much cheaper than in MNL? I just assumed it was, just like everything else. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI did try to go beyond Tsim Sha Tsui and went to Mongkok for shoes but ended up with an amazing find of 3 boxes of false eyelashes for 150 PHP. J’adore Hong Kong.

This entry was posted in Makeup. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

