How To: Clean Canvas

I’m not usually a very OC person, in general, but when I do, I get OC a little too much. When I do makeup, I can be very OC with everything that has to do with being clean. My brushes need to be clean, my hands need to be clean and most importantly, the skin I need to put makeup on needs to be clean too. And that is why I definitely abuse my pack of wet wipes whenever I go on gigs. But I guess it’s nothing new to any of you that good makeup starts with good, well-prepped skin. Everyone has their own version of prepping their skin for makeup application so I thought I’d share mine. Now, I don’t claim to be an expert on this whole skin-care regimen thing nor do I have super clear skin, I just find that this makes my makeup look much cleaner and stay on longer than usual. πŸ™‚

As a regular thing, I wash my face with St. Ive’s Apricot Scrub just 3 times a week since scrubbing the face everyday will do more harm than good. So, I really time that on the day I need to put on makeup, I don’t scrub my face until right before I apply my makeup. I don’t really know much about facial scrubs but this scrub has been one of the most popular ones since even before I hit puberty and I haven’t really experienced anything wrong with it and I’ve been using it for two years now.

I scrub my skin before I put makeup so that I get to deeply clean everything to make sure the makeup doesn’t clog in anything that shouldn’t be there.I only dab and not rub my face to dry, I find that this keeps my skin more hydrated.

I get a cold towel (just refrigerate a wet towel for around 20 minutes) and put on my face for about 10 minutes while lightly pressing it on with circular motion every now and then – it can get tiring for a whole 10 minutes. The cold towel is supposed to close your pores more than usual so if you think about it, you just cleaned your pores after that scrub and now you’re keeping them clean by closing them with the cold towel.

With clean fingers,Β  I massage my face with circular motions again for around another two minutes just to make sure the skin is relaxed and taut for makeup application. From there, apply any kind of moisturizer in the same motion. Make sure to always have a light and gentle hand when touching your face – it feels better and it’ll supposedly avoid wrinkles!

Aside from the positive effects in makeup application, it’s also very relaxing and refreshing for the skin, in general.

And here’s a photo of my makeup when I did this before I put on my makeup:

No photoshoppp cause I dont know how HAHA

Hope this helps anyone and if you get to try it, let me know how it goes. πŸ™‚

Nicole x

This entry was posted in How To and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How To: Clean Canvas

Leave a Reply

