Zombadings: Patayin Sa Shokot Si Remington

Today, my friends and I had another taste of Cinemalaya with Zombadings. At first, I didn’t really know what to expect from this movie – will it be serious? Will it be genuinely funny? Will it be another one of those gay movies that don’t have deeper meanings? And because I’m swamped with schoolwork, will it even be worth my time?

In my opinion (which isn’t really all that professional, I am but a mere movie-goer), it was a good movie and experience. At first, the idea of zombie badings didn’t appeal to me but cause I thought that it would be really corny and overrated. The Zombadings weren’t really the focus of the movie, which I liked as it wasn’t just a revamped, glammed up zombie movie. The solid incorporation of gay linggo with matching subtitles (!) made the experience so much more enjoyable. For once, I understood what the bekis were saying! I’m still refining my gay linggo skills, forgive me.

The movie did have some deeper meaning attached to it. The movie showed the reality of how gays are discriminated by society but also showed how they are a force to be reckoned with. I particularly liked how gays fight for their identity because they know that they deserve as much right as everyone else. Parental acceptance is also a big issue on homosexuality in the Philippines and this movie’s portrayal of this reality is spot-on.

I really enjoyed this movie and I think everyone, beki or not, will enjoy it too. Oh, and, the leading men are gorgeous. I had the privilege of seeing them for a short ‘press conference’ after the screening. Hehe.

The movie is opening nationwide on August 31.

Cute ticket!

Yes, I'm still not over HP.

Cinemalaya buddy!

Haggardous Versoza (do you like my beki language?)

With Mart Escudero as Remington. Fangirl mode

Whatever Nadine. WHATEVER.

Look at her Zombading makeup!

I want to learn how to do this!

Nicole x

Photos by Nadine Narciso

This entry was posted in Life, In General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

