WordPress x Formspring x Photoshop

Today/tonight, I received a surprising submission on my formspring accusing me of photoshopping my personal makeup posts. It exclaimed that I am a fake makeup artist with no true talent and that the only reason my makeup looks good is that I photoshop them. It also said that I am, well, ugly. While I appreciate the time and effort It spent to look at all my makeup posts and criticize them, it just irks me at how It ruined my integrity as a person on the way to becoming a makeup artist.

Yes, I am not a makeup artist yet but I don’t believe that I deserve to be called fake. I don’t believe I have at least claimed to be a makeup artist. At most, I know I have considered myself as a person who knows how to put makeup maybe more than an average person. As for talent, that’s subjective so feel free to believe and defend said beliefs to say I have no real talent. I honestly don’t mind. In fact, I’m glad that there is variety in the opinions based on me and what I do.

Anyway, the main point of this entry is to let all of you know that I do not photoshop the makeup I do. However, I do photoshop the watermarking, the brightness of the photo and the compiling of photos into one image. I do not add or remove makeup onto the faces of my models and myself to improve the quality of the makeup I worked on. I’ve also mentioned in one of my first #makeupclass posts that I have nearly zero photoshop skills so if I don’t really know how much photoshop I could do aside from what I’ve mentioned. Sometimes, like my profile picture on facebook, I change the color balance and the exposure of the photo to add whatever creativity I am capable of but that doesn’t directly affect my makeup work but affects the photo as a whole.

Thank you for the comments and feedback on my work and I hope to see more of them in the future. I take comments on my works professionally and I take them into consideration to make me a better makeup aficionado in the future. 🙂

Nicole x

This entry was posted in Life, In General, Makeup and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

