Too Much Adele?

If you’ve been following me on twitter long enough, you would have probably noticed that I always tweet about her. Well, what’s not to tweet about? Lyrics? Check. Soul? Check. Music? Check. Originality? Check.

Why I love Adele

Her music is amazing. Chasing Pavements was the first Adele song I’ve heard and honestly, I wasn’t a big fan of her voice at first cause I got so accustomed to listening to music by, admittedly, Akon or T-Pain. What made me really listen to it was the soul and emotion the singing exuded. As I listened to the song, I felt the confusion and the frustration she felt on whether she should give up or keep chasing pavements even if it lead no where.

In line with how in touch she is with her soul when she sings, watch her live performance of Someone Like You in the 2011 Brit Awards. You could just see it in her eyes that she feels the hurt the persona of the song is feeling. While I was watching it, I couldn’t help but just stare, amazed at the amount of emotion in one performance. As the song neared the end, Adele cracked a little. Some people may consider it as unprofessional of her because she wasn’t able to control her emotions during the performance but I absolutely loved it. It made the whole performance feel so real. I mean, really, how could you not get affected by the lines, “I’d hoped you’d see my face & that you’d be reminded,
that for me, it isn’t over yet.” and “Sometimes it lasts in love, but sometimes it hurts instead”.

Her album 21 is… better than sex. Not that I know what sex is like, but judging at how often people talk and fantasize about it, it’s probably pretty awesome. 21 is more than just pretty awesome. Lovesong is a remake but it’s remade beautifully. It’s so smooth and relaxing that sometimes, I use it as a lullaby. It also has this Hawaiian luau vibe that even if she practically just repeats the same thing for five minutes, you still wish she kept repeating just so the song won’t end. He Won’t Go – I have three lines for you: “Will he… will he still remember me? Will he still love me even when he’s free? Or will he go back to the place where he would chose the poison over me?”

And my favorite Adele song, One And Only.

I’m bothered at how I’m still writing this when I know I’ll never be able to give her the justice and praise she deserves so do yourself a favor and download/buy/listen to her music and get ready for a lot of Adele-accompanied nights.

Nicole x

This entry was posted in Life, In General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

