You Broke My Smolder!

*contains lines from the movie. spoilers ahead. you have been warned.

To end this lovely weekend right, my family and I decided to watch Disney’s latest movie, Tangled – a fresh take on the fairytale Rapunzel. To say that I’m a big fan of Disney movies would be one of my life’s greatest understatements. I grew up with the Disney classics like Aladdin, Mulan and Beauty And The Beast and I must say, it’s been a while since I’ve fallen in love with another Disney animated movie. I really enjoyed Enchanted but I don’t think that falls under the same category.

Tangled is definitely Disney’s big comeback with animated movies. The movie is filled with witty lines that were probably more for the teenagers and adults and the cute delivery of the lines were more for the kids. Disney animation has definitely gone a long way since its Little Mermaid days. I must say, they made the baby Rapunzel look so very real that I couldn’t help but gush over how cute she was. And Flynn Rider. Oh Flynn Rider was one animated smoldering hottie with a smoldering hot voice.

A Disney movie wouldn’t turn into a Disney classic without a wonderful soundtrack. Alan Menken, the god behind most of Disney’s jewels of a soundtrack, just stole my heart yet again with his work for Tangled. I See The Light is the new A Whole New World, When Will My Life Begin is the new Part Of Your World, Mother Knows Best is the new Poor Unfortunate Souls and I’ve Got A Dream is the new I Just Can’t Wait To Be King. I just love how Disney always hits the right spots with their songs like how warm and fuzzy I felt when I See The Light played and how I was reminded of my dreams when I’ve Got A Dream was on. I actually just finished downloading the whole soundtrack via torrents. Heehee.

Since this movie’s target market is actually for kids, Disney made sure to put in life lessons kids would pick up. and reflect on once they’ve left the cinema. It showed how mothers knew best but also shows that no matter how motherly a person can be, it doesn’t automatically mean that they are the real mothers. Much like the themes of past Disney movies, one of Tangled’s themes is the journey to find completion in the main character. With that, the movie depicts how important having a family really is. The movie also shows how even the most wanted criminal can be changed by the right person in the most unlikely circumstances in the name of love. And my favorite lesson, the movie showed how harsh the real world is and how staying within the comforts of your mommy and your home is probably the best option but if you believed in your own strength and had the dream to see the world for yourself, you’ll do wonders. Sometimes, I hate how Disney movies can touch me so much.

Here are some lines I really enjoyed.

Flynn Rider: You were my new dream.
Rapunzel: And you were mine.

Hook Hand Thug: Go, live your dream.
Flynn Rider: I will.
Hook Hand Thug: Your dream stinks. I was talking to her.

Flynn Rider: You broke my smolder!

Rapunzel: I’ve been looking out of a window for eighteen years, dreaming about what I might feel like when those lights rise in the sky. What if it’s not everything I dreamed it would be?
Flynn Rider: It will be.
Rapunzel: And what if it is? What do I do then?
Flynn Rider: Well,that’s the good part I guess. You get to go find a new dream.

Rapunzel: I have made the decision to trust you.
Flynn Rider: A horrible decision really.

Flynn Rider: A fake reputation is all a man has.

Rapunzel: I think he likes me
Mother Gothel: Likes you? Please, Rapunzel, that’s demented. This is why you never should have left. Dear, this whole romance that you’ve invented just proves you’re too naive to be here.

I obviously give this movie 5 stars. So, you know, if you’ve run out of friends to watch this lovely movie with, I’m available; this is the kind of movie I’d love to see again and again.
Nicole x
For comments, etc. Formspring

This entry was posted in Hopeless Romanticism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to You Broke My Smolder!

  1. K.C. says:

    i cant understand the word ” smolder”? what is it? I also would give the movie a 5 star. This seems silly but i wish i had a girl like rapunzel!!! 😀 ❤

    • Nicole says:

      i think in this movie’s case, it’s a look designed to make you melt, cause the dictionary meaning of the word is “smoke coming from a fire that is burning slowly without a flame”. haha no matter, i wish i had her hair! 🙂

      • K.C. says:

        thnx.i knw the Dictionary meaning but i didnt know what he meant in the movie.thanks anyway. May you have hair like rapunzel’s and wish me that i have a girl like her. Cause she’s so cute and so good natured . 😀

Leave a Reply

